BERNICE SCHOLL (1920-1997) 

    It is with sadness and a sense of deep loss that we report the passing of Mrs. Bernice Scholl at her home in Marathon Shores, Florida on August 20, 1997. Over the last several months, Bernice underwent medical and radiation treatments at Key West for cancer, and had been discharged to her home under hospice care over the last several weeks.

    Bernice has served as Treasurer of the (American Philatelic Society) Space Unit since July, 1977. During those 20 years, she willingly and graciously filled many other capacities as well. If there was a job to do, if someone needed a helping hand, if a key position became vacant, Bernice was always there to 'fill the gap' and see to it that the work of the Space Unit was carried on without interruption.

    It is mainly due to her diligence and efforts that the Space Unit has managed to remain the leader in reporting events relating to astrophilately. Bernice encouraged advertisers to support the publication, readers to send in articles for publication the Astrophile (the Space Unit newsletter), set in place the workings for the bimonthly members auction, and served to keep the officers "in line". She often worked 8-10 hours per day on Space Unit business. It was, for her, truly a labor of love and the promotion of our hobby.

    Mrs. Scholl was buried in the family plot at Riverside Cemetery, New Jersey, on August 22,1997. She was widowed about six years ago and is survived by a sister, Mrs. Orloff and her family of Edgewater, NJ.

    The Space Unit will honor Mrs. Scholl's memory in perpetuity, by creating the BERNICE SCHOLL AWARD for excellence in astrophilatelic writing. Authors of published articles in the Astrophile for each completed annual volume would be eligible for the award. The winner will be announced and the award presented at the annual meeting of the Space Unit.

    Contributions in her memory may be sent to the Space Unit, and should be directed to Mr. Steve Durst, Treasurer, 777 Brushwood Court, Millersville, MD 21108.


---- Reuben A. Ramkissoon, MD, President